Setting User Permissions for Chat

Select the available user permissions for the space's chat features. This operation only controls sending chats. All users can receive and view chats regardless of this setting.

 

Chat Permissions

Restrict sending permissions for all chats, regardless of chat type.

1. Click the hamburger menu on the top left of the screen and select the Space tab on the main menu
*If you are not the organization owner, you do not need to select the tab.

Screenshot 2023-07-20 at 9.14.10 PM.png

2. Space Settings → Click Roles and Permissions

3. Select Chat Permissions from the pull-down

All users Any user can send
Member or above Admins and members can send
Admin only Can only be sent by administrators


When a user with restricted permissions clicks on the chat text area, the error message Your chat room is restricted. is displayed and the chat cannot be sent.

 

Mention Chat Permission

Restrict sending permissions for @ mention chats. Users with permissions restricted by this setting can still send public chats.

1. Click the hamburger menu on the top left of the screen and select the "Space" tab on the main menu
*If you are not the organization owner, you do not need to select the tab.

Screenshot 2023-07-20 at 9.14.10 PM.png

2. Space Settings → Click Roles and Permissions

3. Select Chat DM Feature from the pulldown

All users Any user can send
Admin only Can only be sent by administrators
Member or above Admins and members can send
Not allowed All users cannot send


Users with limited permissions will not see the "@" button for specifying mentions or the pin mentions button. Even if you specify a user with the "@" mark, it will be sent as a public chat.

screenshot

Also, other methods of sending mention chats are not available.

 

Tips

  • The initial value for both is set to " all users ".

Articles in this section

See more