Using Rooms in an oVice Space

For more private or focused collaboration sessions, you may want to make use of a Meeting Room or Focus Room. Rooms are created and managed by Space Admins. Each room is either designated as a Meeting Room or a Focus Room, and has a limited occupancy based on its physical size in the space. 

 

About Meeting Rooms

Use Meeting Rooms for collaborative work with others. Inside a Meeting Room, all participants will automatically have the option to make use of their Mic and Camera for voice or video chats, as well as Screenshare.

The following functions are available in a meeting room.

Screen sharing and video can be displayed at the same time. Screen sharing and video viewing are displayed at an 8:2 ratio.

Meeting Rooms may be scheduled in advance, and users from inside and outside the Space may be invited. Future Reservation information may be posted on the Room itself, as well as listed in the Schedule Pane, to prevent overlap.

Learn more about Meeting Room Scheduling HERE.

 

Top Use Cases for Meeting Rooms:

  • small team presentations
  • client meetings
  • new hire training
  • 1:1 feedback sessions
  • event breakout groups
  • private tutoring
  • any small group meetings that benefit from a more private, closed space

For additional privacy, you may LOCK the Room behind you. From inside the meeting room, simply click the LOCK button located in the top menu bar as shown below. Other users will not be able to enter the Meeting Room once locked.

Screen_Shot_2022-12-07_at_4.10.06_PM.png

About Focus Rooms

Focus Rooms are meant to help facilitate a distraction-free space for users to get independent work done. While more than one user may go inside a Focus Room, there is no option to turn on your mic, camera, or open any Dynamic Objects. The Bottom Horizontal Menu Bar will disappear while inside the Focus Room. 

Focus Rooms cannot be reserved, and are available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Top Use Cases for Focus Rooms:

  • creative work
  • making sales calls on the phone
  • technical focus work
  • meditation break
  • any individual need to avoid distractions and get things accomplished

 

How to Enter a Room

For both Meeting Rooms and Focus Rooms, a user may simply click or double-click into an available room. For Meeting Rooms only, upon entry, you'll be asked whether you wish to enter with your mic on or off. Your camera will be off by default, but you'll be able to turn it on if you wish inside the room.

Screenshot 2023-09-05 at 8.45.00 PM.png

*The camera is turned off when entering the room.
* Users in the conference room will be notified that they have entered the room.

Screenshot 2023-08-15 at 9.19.16 PM.png

How to Leave a Room

To exit any Room, click the blue Leave Icon that will appear in the Top Horizontal Menu Bar.

For space members, your Avatar will reappear back in the open workspace where it was before entering the Room. 

For Guest meeting attendees, leaving the Room will place them back at the Lobby.

Learn more about User Roles HERE.

 

If the Room is Full

This room is full! Is displayed and you cannot enter the room.

Screenshot 2023-08-16 at 9.12.07 PM.png

 

If the Meeting Room is Locked

If you want to join the meeting, make a request to enter the meeting room.

Screenshot 2023-08-16 at 9.15.52 PM.png

To Request Entry:

1. Click the appropriate meeting room

2. Select Request Entry

Screenshot 2023-08-16 at 9.14.36 PM.png

User actions in the meeting room

1. Check the message displayed on the upper right of the screen with the notification sound

2. Click "Select" within 60 seconds

Screenshot 2023-08-16 at 9.17.29 PM.png

3. Select Approve or Deny

 

Leave the Room

1. Click the Exit button from the menu bar at the top right of the screen

Screenshot 2023-08-16 at 9.21.42 PM.png

2. Click Leave on the confirmation screen

*You can also leave the silent room by clicking the open space.
* Users in the meeting room will be notified that you have left the room.

 

Tips

  • Both In a meeting room and a silent room, you can send and receive chats from users in the open workspace.
  • If the room is already full, you'll see the error message 'This room is full!' and you can't enter the room.
  • If the room is locked, you'll see the error message 'This room is locked!' and you can't enter the room.
  • If you are using a mobile device or a narrow browser window, click the 3-dot more button on the control menu bar to display the buttons Lock Meeting Room, Personal Settings, and Leave Meeting Room
  • Screenshot 2023-09-26 at 9.27.08 PM.png

    • If the conference room you are using has a schedule reservation, users in the room will be notified 10 minutes before the reservation time. The "Remind Me Later" button will be displayed until 5 minutes before the reservation time, and by clicking it, you can receive a notification again 5 minutes before the reservation time.
      schedule management

    Screenshot 2023-09-25 at 10.50.16 AM.png

 

Articles in this section